2000 – The Flower Kings – Space Revolver

The Flower Kings’ music typically takes awhile to get into. Sometimes progressive music is easily accessible and it becomes more engaging as you pick up the wonderful nuances of each song. Not so with Flower Kings. While it has it’s catchy moments, you can’t really appreciate this one until you spend a lot of time listening to it. There is so much in each song. 

If you’re already a Flower Kings fan, it won’t take as long, but it’s still a bit of ‘work’. But it’s worth it.

The two part epic “I Am the Sun” (that opens and closes the album) is brilliant, weaving intricate soundscapes and moving from heavy moments to a more jazzy groove (and many other changes) very smoothly. “Dream on Dreamer” is a strange song and the cool instrumental “Rumble Fish Twist” is a crazy 8-minute ride…it’s exhilarating and fun at first, but then it changes and becomes a slow, lugubrious tune that leaves you feeling down (in a good sort of way). “Monster Within”, one of the album’s longer tracks, can take a long time to really get into. The lyrics seem to meander a lot at the end, but the music keeps things concise and focused. “Chicken Farmer Song” is a silly, upbeat tune that remains the catchiest song on the album.

  1. I Am The Sun – Part One (15:03)
  2. Dream On Dreamer (2:43)
  3. Rumble Fish Twist (8:06)
  4. Monster Within (12:55)
  5. Chicken Farmer Song (5:09)
  6. Underdog (5:29)
  7. You Don’t Know What You’ve Got (2:39)
  8. Slave To Money (7:30)
  9. A Kings Prayer (6:02)
  10. I Am The Sun – Part Two (10:48)
  • Roine Stolt – Lead & backing vocals, lead guitars, additional bass
  • Hasse Fröberg – Lead & backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Tomas Bodin – Piano, organ, synthesizer, mellotron
  • Jonas Reingold – Fender precision & fretless bass
  • Jaime Salazar – Drums
Additional Musicians:
  • Hasse Bruniusson – Percussion, mallets, chains, voices
  • Ulf Wallander – Soprano saxophone

Also check out their website for more (order) information.