2013 – The Flower Kings – Desolation Rose

Just one year after the critically acclaimed Bank Of Eden the Kings released another album: Desolation Rose. Real fans already have been used to the fact that single or double disk albums succeed each other quickly, so this was no surprise. But in the past decade there were numerous side projects for all band members and Roine was working hard with Transatlantic as well.

As the label on the disc says: “The masters of cinematic and melodic symphonic rock are back!” With every album of TFK you can say that their sound is surprisingly unique and that they tend to have really cinematic melodies that are supplemented by riveting drums and gritty vocals. This album perhaps has a more vintage sound but it’s strangely new too. Indeed. It starts to sound boring, but they managed to create a breath of fresh air again.

Anyone should bow before the Kings. This is a magnificent, extraordinary and blissful album, the second within a year.


  1. Tower One  (13:39)
  2. Sleeping Bones  (4:16)
  3. Desolation Road  (4:00)
  4. White Tuxedos  (6:30)
  5. The Resurrected Judas  (8:24)
  6. Silent Masses  (6:17)
  7. Last Carnivore  (4:22)
  8. Dark Fascist Skies  (6:05)
  9. Blood Of Eden  (3:12)
  10. Silent Graveyards  (2:52)

Special edition bonus disk:

  1. Runaway Train  (4:40)
  2. Interstellar Visitations  (8:23)
  3. Lazy Monkey  (2:23)
  4. Psalm 2013  (2:08)
  5. The Wailing Wall  (3:18)
  6. Badbeats  (5:22)
  7. Burning Spears  (3:13)
  8. The Final Era  (2:57)


  • Roine Stolt – Lead and backing vocals, electric & acoustic guitar, additional keyboards
  • Hasse Froberg – Lead and backing vocals, guitar
  • Jonas Reingold – Bass, backing vocals
  • Tomas Bodin – Grand piano, Hammon B3, Minimoog, Fender Rhodes, keyboards
  • Felix Lehrmann – Drums & percussion

Also check out their website for more (order) information.