2017 – The Tangent – The Slow Rust Of Forgotten Machinery

The 9th studio album of Andy Tillison’s The Tangent is full of political statements and stories about social issues, sometimes a bit controversial and possibly divisive. The music is a diverse mix of prog, jazz, funk, punk, techno, ambient, and heavy rock to great effect. Jonas’ bass sounds better and more prominent than ever. He brings his bass to the front and plays lots of interesting lead parts on his bass.

The album is progressive, of course. There are lots of intricacies, challenging arrangements, long developed pieces, and virtuoso playing from all members. There are new sounds and styles, female lead and backing voices. There’s a new producer: Luke Machin, whose open and deep/clear sound is a major factor of this album. There’s even a new drummer: Andy Tillison, who decided – after drumming for 30 years – to let his own performances guide the rest of the band. And for the first time with The Tangent Jonas plays double bass on track 4 (The Sad Story of Lead and Astatine) and lays down a great bass solo. By the way, the double bass is also called contrabass or upright bass, and all below you will find a photo of the bass that Jonas used on this album (thanks, J).

Newcomer Marie-Eve de Gaultier – from Machin’s band – increases the level of singing a lot and also adds keyboards.

Simply order the studio album or even pre-order the upcoming live album of TangeKanic to support the combined tour of The Tangent and Karmakanic.


  1. Two Rope Swings  [6:30]
  2. Doctor Livingstone (I Presume)  [11:58]
  3. Slow Rust  [22:31]
  4. The Sad Story of Lead and Astatine  [16:00]
  5. A Few Steps Down the Wrong Road  [17:31]
  6. Basildonxit  [5:21]


  • Andy Tillison – Keyboards, vocals, drums
  • Luke Machin – Guitars and vocals
  • Jonas Reingold – Bass
  • Theo Travis – Saxes and flutes
  • Marie-Eve de Gaultier – Keyboards and vocals